Each team can enter a squad of 20 players born in 2006 and younger. It is played in two groups of four teams each.

The tournament field consists only of top-class teams. All teams have a connection to Walther Bensemann or to the city in which the 2022 tournament will take place.

At the four German clubs – FC Bayern, 1. FC Nürnberg, Eintracht Frankfurt and Karlsruher SC – Walther Bensemann was involved in the founding process or maintained long and intensive relationships with them. The connections ended when he had to emigrate during the Nazi era – like the Jewish coach of 1. FC Nürnberg, Jenö Konrad, before him, and after him the long-time Jewish president of FC Bayern, Kurt Landauer.

Fascism and war also greatly affected two foreign clubs participating in the tournament: Cracovia from Nuremberg’s twin city Krakow, a club with a strong Jewish tradition, lost important Jewish members and supporters after the German invasion in World War II. In 1938 FC Bologna had to let go its successful Jewish coach Árpád Weisz, who was murdered in Auschwitz a few years later.

The memory of the victims of the Nazi extermination policy plays a major role at Maccabi Tel Aviv, the tournament participant from Israel; Holocaust Remembrance Day is celebrated there every year. Chelsea FC, the guest from England, also cherishes this memory, and not only for English Nazi victims. The memorial stone at Stamford Bridge stadium also bears the names of Árpád Weisz and the Jewish Karlsruhe international Julius Hirsch, also murdered in Auschwitz.

8 teams

Boys, U17, born 2006 and younger

Chelsea F.C

Eintracht Frankfurt

Karlsruhe SC

1. FC Nuremberg

Maccabi Tel Aviv

FC Bayern

Cracovia Kraków

FC Bologna